Donald Trump’s Twitter Staffers Just Invented a New Hobby: #TrumpTrolling

Donald Trump has been blowing up the airwaves recently. Every time this quasi-conservative blowhard opens his mouth to huff and puff, it seems he blows the Republican House down.

But I was watching some strange behavior on his Twitter account tonight, and I couldn’t help but try a little experiment.

Just waiting. I'll be here to guide everyone through the process as The USA destroys itself with the impossible algorithm of Unfettered Capitalism.
“Just waiting. I’ll be here to guide everyone through the process as The USA destroys itself with the impossible algorithm of Unfettered Capitalism.” Click to Enlarge.

I noticed when studying some very strongly-worded endorsements of Trump, re-tweeted by his official account, that they were coming from unusual places. First, I noticed this lonely guy: At the time he was re-tweeted by @realDonaldTrump, he had only 7 followers. Someone with no name, no following, and only 48 tweets to date. Not only that, but his feed also contained re-tweets from Bernie Sanders and Rand Paul, so I had to wonder what he did to catch the Eye of Trump. With a lovely anti-capitalism description for his Twitter account (pictured, right), I could only assume that whomever re-tweeted this content must not be very discerning about who they are inadvertently promoting.

Expecting that either “The Donald” or his staffers were scraping the bottom of the barrel for supporters to re-tweet, I continued to watch The Donald’s Twitter Feed.

This Twitter User only has one English-Language tweet on his entire feed. (Click to enlarge) The next tweet he sent out was another re-tweet – this time, re-tweeting the only English-language tweet from a feed that was otherwise written completely in Arabic. I have to wonder, at this point, if these accounts are being paid to write these endorsements. More testing was required!

So the next thing I did – a completely spur-of-the-moment decision – has resulted in the most interesting three hours I have ever endured/enjoyed on Twitter.

I decided to mock-up a gushing endorsement of “The Donald”, as if I were one of his supporters, and see what would happen. I quickly followed it with a disclaimer (which you will find below), stating that I endorse Rand Paul for President, and even before I posted my exaggerated comments about Trump, several of my more recent tweets had been criticizing him… But to my immense surprise, @realDonaldTrump re-tweeted me. (As of a few hours later, the tweet is still around)

What happened next, well… I can’t even continue to words right now, so…

Donald Trump re-tweets an exaggerated parody of his rabid followers. Image via Twitter.
Donald Trump re-tweets an exaggerated parody of his rabid followers. Image via Twitter.
Someone thought it was a brilliant move!
Twitter user @samebane thought it was a brilliant move!
A New Hashtag is Born: #TrumpTrolling
A New Hashtag is Born: #TrumpTrolling
TRUMPLOL4
Thanks for the free promotion, Donald, but I actually don’t like you.
Leave a Reply

